Loading Events

« All Events

Lillian Fountain Smith Nutrition Conference

May 19 - May 20

The Lillian Fountain Smith Conference honors Mrs. Smith, a 1918 graduate in home economics at Colorado State University (then Colorado A&M). Recognizing the importance of nutrition in her own life and the lives of her family members, Mrs. Smith chose to assist the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition at Colorado State University in improving and extending its nutrition outreach activities. The Lillian Fountain Smith Conference was first made possible with charitable gifts from the Lillian Fountain Smith Trust, established by Mr. and Mrs. J. Fish Smith. The conference – including the affordable registration costs – is now sustained by the Lillian Fountain Smith Conference Endowment, established with a bequest from Mrs. Smith’s estate. People have attended this conference from across the United States during the past three decades. It is an honor to continue this legacy.

 Tuesday, May 19, 2020 (PM)

3:30-5:00 Pre-Conference Workshops

  • Workshop 1: Exploring Chocolate – Caitlin Clark
  • Workshop 2: Exploring Cheese – James Musetti
  • Workshop 3: Global Innovation Center Tour – Joe Bullard & Bob Dellmore
  • Workshop 4: Gardens on Spring Creek Tour – Ashley Young & Mary Miller
  • Workshop 5: Functional Foods; Microgreens – Sarah Johnson
  • Workshop 6: Baking Science; Gluten’s Role – Charlene Van Buiten
  • Workshop 7: CSU Dining Services Tour – Brittney Sly

5:00-6:30 Registration (Lory Student Center Main Ballroom)

5:30-7:00 Dinner/Networking

6:00-7:00 Poster Session

7:00-8:00 Conference Opening/Keynote Speaker

Keynote Speaker: Anna Lappé


Wednesday, May 20, 2020 (AM)

7:30 Breakfast/Registration

7:30-1:00 Conference Resource Area Open

8:15 Morning Welcome

8:30 Speaker: Aron Barbey

9:15 Speaker: Krista Varady

9:55 BREAK

10:20 Speaker: Christina Economos

11:00-11:30 Speaker Panel

11:45-1:00 LUNCH

1:00-2:00 Breakout Sessions

Breakout Session 1: Anna Lappé

Breakout Session 2: Aron Barbey

Breakout Session 3: Josiane Broussard

Breakout Session 4: Kalyn Garcia and Michelle Milholland, KRNC

2:00-3:00 Breakout Sessions

Breakout Session 1: Krista Varady

Breakout Session 2: Christina Economos

Breakout Session 3: Noah Voreades

Breakout Session 4: Jeff Miller

3:00-3:15 BREAK

3:15-4:15 Short Talks

Short Talk 1: Mackenzie Ferrante

Short Talk 2: Emily Woolf

Short Talk 3: Caitlin Clark

Short Talk 4: Jessica Hill

4:15-4:30 Closing Remarks/Adjourn


May 19
May 20


Colorado State University